OK

Vue of the Castle

Orangery and entrace to the Museum

The Castle

Romont Castle provides a perfect setting for the Vitromusée and Vitrocentre. The castle stands at the top of a picturesque hill at an altitude of 780m (approx. 2,500 ft.) Together with the medieval church and houses surrounded by the old town walls, it shapes the distinctive silhouette of the small town of Romont. The square in front of the castle opens onto a magnificent panorama of the Alps, with the majestic Mont Blanc visible to the right on a clear day.

The keep and the main part of the castle - which today houses the Museum’s stained-glass collection -  were built in the 13th century under Pierre II of Savoy. In the 16th century, the new governors from Fribourg built a further wing - now home to the Museum’s collection of reverse painting on glass. The entrance gate to the courtyard and the well (depth 40m) also date from that period. The huge wooden draw-wheel for the well (18thC), the parapet walkway, and some lovely old trees lend the courtyard a particular cachet. In the course of time, the buildings were converted to suit various purposes (barn, garage, prison etc.); until in 1981 the Vitromusée and in 1988 the Vitrocentre were installed here.

The interior of the old castle is equally remarkable: solid sandstone walls and an imposing timber roof-framework stand in interesting contrast to the metal structures of the new orangery, passerelle and stairwell added in 2006 when remodelling the Museum.

Vitromusée Romont – Au Château – P.O. Box 150 – CH-1680 Romont – Phone +41 (0)26 652 10 95 – Fax +41 (0)26 652 49 17 – cr:vasb:ivgebzhfrr.pu